RTSA awards

2011 David Marchant AM

Individual Award Winner 2011

The recipient of the prestigious 2011 RTSA Individual Award for his outstanding contribution to the Australian rail industry is Mr. David Marchant.


David had been instrumental in leading the ARTC, during his time as Chief Executive Officer from its inception in 1998 until his retirement in 2011, in the establishment of a “one-stop shop” for rail operators seeking access to the interstate standard gauge rail network between Brisbane and Perth. David also has been s
uccessful in gaining substantial funding for major infrastructure upgrades of these main lines as well as the Hunter Valley coal lines.

In addition to his exemplary role with the ARTC David has been an active supporter of the rail industry as a whole which has been illustrated by his 2009 appointment as Chairman of the Board for the Australasian Railway Association and his continual support of the technically based RTSA CORE railway conferences.