RTSA awards

2009 Graham Tew

Individual Award Winner 2009

Mr. Graham Tew has been awarded the RTSA Individual Award for 2009 in recognition of his outstanding contribution, initially to the work of the BHP-Melbourne Research Laboratories, and latterly to the Institute of Railway Technology at Monash University.

For a period of 19 years, Mr. Tew played a defining role in providing technical leadership at the BHPMRL and, in 1999; he became the manager responsible for all railway-related research. He managed the transition of railway research activities from the BHP research facility to the new home at Monash University. Since that time he has had responsibility for the over all management of the Institute of Railway Technology. Together with numerous publications and technical reports, his contributions are reflected in the recognition of the Institute of Railway Technology as a world leader in railway research.