We hold monthly meetings which include presentations at the Engineers Australia premises in Adelaide as well as visits to topical sites and works.

We enjoy a good liaison with the local PWI and IRSE organisations with whom we have a programme of joint meetings.

The rail networks in South Australia consist of the broad gauge Adelaide Metropolitan Passenger Rail Network (AMPRN), the standard gauge Defined Interstate Rail Network (DIRN) and a variety of regional lines, ranging from narrow gauge to standard gauge and broad gauge. The DIRN runs from the WA border through Adelaide to the Victorian border, and from Crystal Brook up to Broken Hill in NSW.

The Adelaide Metropolitan Passenger Rail Network (AMPRN) is made up of 4 main rail lines; Gawler, Seaford, Outer Harbour and Belair, 2 branch lines; Grange and Tonsley and one tram line which runs from the entertainment centre through to Glenelg out on the coast. The heavy rail network is some 127 kilometres running from Port Adelaide in the North to Seaford in the South, Belair in the West.

The South Australian government has instigated the Rail Revitalisation Project here in Adelaide which introduces electric trains onto the network for the first time. This has caused a major influx of rail engineering activities across all disciplines such as electrification, signalling, infrastructure and of course new rolling stock.

These activities are well underway and we have had, and continue to have, many opportunities for site visits and presentations related to the various activities.

We enjoy very good links into local organisations through our member contacts whom are spread throughout the following types of organisations:

Railway engineering consultancies;

Genesee & Wyoming Australia (GWA);

Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC);

Great Southern Railway (GSR);

Passenger Transport Services (PTS);

Department for Planning, Transport and infrastructure (DPTI); and

The Office of the National Rail  Safety Regulator (ONRSR).

There are also historic railway organisations such as the Mount Barker Steamranger group including Cockle Train and Pichi Richi Railway 

SA Committee for 2018

Phillip Campbell OAM - Chair

Gary Sharpe - Secretary

Barry Aw - Treasurer

Kuldeep Zala - Committee member

David Ogucha - Committee member

Mark Jordan - Committee member

Stratton Killis - Committee member

For any matters directly related to the running of RTSA please contact via http://www.rtsa.com.au/contact/ .

 Please Note

Each RTSA technical meeting generally has a value of 1 CPD point

SA Chapter Update

SA chapter has recently launched the member's survey which consists of 10 questionnaires. This is to make sure that your committee get the feedback regarding member's needs and preferences in regard to the technical program. So please take time and complete the survey via following link. Thank you for your feedback in advance.