Masters Thesis Award

2024 Railway Masters Thesis Award nominations are closed.

The Masters Thesis Award is offered annually by the RTSA to the author of an outstanding masters degree research on a topic concerned with the rail industry. The work completed in the thesis shall have been undertaken in Australia or New Zealand.

The following review criteria are used as part of the process of evaluation of applications for the Award (equally weighted):

• Detail and accuracy of problem definition.
• Level of literature review, referencing and the use of related published work in the field.
• Degree of innovation on problem solution and contribution to knowledge of railways.
• Level of experimental work, modelling and/or simulation.
• Applicability of research to current railway-related problems.
• Peer reviewed publications in outstanding journals in the related field and/or presentations in railway related conferences.

2024 Railway Master Thesis Award Nomination Form

The Award comprises; a cash prize of $3,000AUD or NZ$ equivalent; one complimentary CORE Conference registration plus travel and accommodation; a commemorative certificate and one year free Membership of the RTSA.

Click here for information on past post graduate thesis award recipients from 2013 to present.