RTSA announces recipient of 2019 Young Railway Engineering of the Year Award

The RTSA has awarded the 2019 Young Railway Engineer of the Year award to Mr Kyaw Lwin, CPEng.

Kyaw has a Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering Degree from the Curtin University of Technology (2007) and achieved Chartered Status with Engineers Australia in 2018. He is currently working for Lendlease as Senior Overhead Wiring Engineer leading the design phase for the introduction of a Rigid Overhead Conductor Beam for the 9 km twin tunnels of the Melbourne Metro Tunnel Project. In this role he is also mentoring junior staff.

Kyaw is an active member of the Victorian/Tasmania Chapter of the RTSA assisting in the coordination and organisation of the annual Undergraduate Railway Challenge in Melbourne.  He also previously volunteered with Young Engineers Australia, Australia Engineering Week and Engineers without Borders. In 2017, his employer at the time, Aurecon, awarded him a Aurecon Emerging Superstar Award which is presented for someone who shows exemplary behaviours, work ethic and technical skills.

Kyaw also recently presented a paper at the World Engineers Convention 2019 on the topic of “Overhead wiring creativity and innovation applied on the elevated walkway”.

Kyaw has been awarded full registration at RTSA CORE2020 Conference in Perth, including advanced purchase of return airfares and accommodation plus a cash prize of AU$1000 and one-year free membership of the RTSA.

The Young Railway Engineer Award is offered annually to reward young professional engineers, technologists and associates in Australia or New Zealand who have reached a demonstrated level of achievement and involvement in any field of railway engineering; who have exhibited technical competence, good character and integrity and who have assisted in developing or improving the attitude of the public, and/or those from within the railway industry, towards railway engineering.

Candidates for the award shall be under 35 years of age at 31st December in the year in which nominations close and shall have had at least two years professional experience after completing an undergraduate degree or diploma, which has required the equivalent of three or more years of full-time study.

Click here for more information and a list of previous recipients of this award since 2004.